Skip to content

Bike Commuters In Da House!

May 18, 2015

Entries are rolling-in for our commuter Mini-Pump competition, you have until the end of May to enter.

These photos warm my heart as I work some really unsociable hours, and even riding most days I seldom see another bike. Well, I see the hard-ass-get-up-at-5am-and-ride-70km-roadies, but not normal folk just getting to work.

It’s nice having a little connection with some of the Bike Friendly readers too, blogging can be a lonely gig. Thanks for taking the time guys!

MiniPumpComp Steve N

Steve – “Commute everyday from Oteha Valley to Constellation Drive Mairangi Bay, via Albany.”

MiniPumpComp Nicholas C

Nicholas – “Here’s a picture of my bike in the locker at the Albany Park and Ride.  I don’t ride my bike all the way to work, just five minutes down the hill!  I live in Oteha Albany.  I do this ride every week day. Walking home is too boring!”

MiniPumpComp Brendan S

Brendan – “I commute every day by bike from Devonport to my job in town. I ride to mission bay after work a few times a week for fitness. I love my Advantage Inc belt bike!”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2015 6:01 pm

    Does Brendon have a belt instead of a chain? How does that work, gear change how? And what are the advantages?

    • May 24, 2015 10:20 am

      Sorry, missed your comment. Belt drives are a proven technology inside car engines and have been used for decades on motorcycle drivechains (think Harley-Davidson).

      Advantages: They are quieter, cleaner (they run dry – no oil) and last a lot longer.
      Disadvantages: You need a “split” in the frame to install the belt as they have no join like a chain. The belts and special cogs needed are more expensive as they are less common. You have to use an internally geared rear hub if you want different ratios.

Leave a Reply

