Skip to content

Unsocial Media

January 29, 2015

Instagram

I’ve recently joined Instagram. Itty-bitty little photos you can’t zoom-in on never really appealed, but now I’ve given it a try (and after upgrading to a smart phone from this century) I have to admit, I’m hooked.

If you’d like to keep track of my bike-life via your phone, follow me on Instagram. It’s mostly bike-related, but there will be the odd cat or child for variety. No English-breakfasts, promise.

My Instagram name is antoinepethers

Little glimpses inside Antoine's head.

Little glimpses inside Antoine’s head.

Flickr

Antoine_Flickr

Antoine’s bike-life in high-resolution.

The Bike Friendly North Shore Flickr pool has been a total failure, nobody’s got involved, but that’s okay. I’ll probably remove that link from the sidebar but will continue to post my best photos to my own photostream.

If you want to see my (mostly) cycling photos nice and big, you can view them here. I love photography and am obviously quite keen on bicycle culture so Flickr is a great place to hang-out.

FaceBook

bikeface

As the last person in New Zealand to join FaceBook I really shouldn’t comment on social media, but I’ll get this off my chest, I hate FaceBook.

I signed-up a few months ago to keep up-to-date with bike events, and while it’s been handy for that I’ve come to realise I just don’t want any friends!

I’d love to have a coffee / drink a beer / ride a bike with you, but I have no interest in what you had for breakfast or where you took your holidays ;^)

Visually it’s a clown throwing-up at a birthday party and I liken the experience to being tied-down and forced to listen to my little sister’s telephone conversations.

Blog-formats like this one are slowly dying and I was considering making Bike Friendly North Shore a FaceBook group, but I can’t bring myself to do it, not yet anyway. I don’t have the free time available to keep it updated.

One community group that do this really well though are Bike Devonport. Those guys are really social and I recommend friending them to keep-up with the stuff I miss posting here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2015 2:36 pm

    There could be a discussion to be had about how to manage a profile to make it more interesting, it’s really about who you are friends with and how you interact rather than Facebook itself, you haven’t been unsuitably negative but the antiFacebook comments you see on Herald and Stuff comments really P me off. The experience these negative people are describing is about THEIR Facebook fiends, not about Facebook itself and certainly not reflective of everyone’s experience with Facebook. Just like a real life club the variance between experiences is absolutely massive. The Facebook algorithm does work it out for you pretty well based on what you like and comment on but you can also game it a bit by hiding the boring stuff. My own ffed for example feed reads more like a blog, but of course there are many people who love to see the food posts too. ;)

    But I digress, I have to say I think you are missing a beat by avoiding Facebook because it’s easily the biggest social network. I’d go with a Facebook page rather than a profile or group. The benefit of a ‘group’ is that everyone sees every post, but that’s also a negative in many ways as the noise factor can become annoying. Also that any group member can post and be seen by all which is a big negative for the more casual followers you’d want. You’ll need the profile to run the page but don’t need to actually read it if you don’t want to. :)

    I reckon you should Just experiment by cross posting everything here and from instagram to see how it goes. It’s the best for discussions too (after Google+ which is beautiful but hasn’t got enough people).

    That’s my half a cent worth anyway. All based on the fact that your blog is always interesting and deserves a little more reach.

  2. biking2work permalink
    January 29, 2015 11:21 pm

    Found and following

  3. January 31, 2015 7:28 pm

    I love your flickr fotos!
    and I feel the same about FB.. :P
    though social media changes (or rather, it changes us) so quickly, i’m very glad we have somehow managed to continue being bloggie pals :) cheers!

    • February 1, 2015 11:08 am

      I’ve made some great friends around the world (like you Meli!) through social media.
      I’ll keep using FB to access information, just don’t want to waste time on it.

  4. February 1, 2015 12:13 pm

    also, i have no idea what i’m doing with gravatar wordpress icon/link (!) I think i logged in to be able to comments … internets and i think and type different simultaneous thoughts, sometimes! :)
    oh btw happy new year! & yay for global bloggie freinds!

Leave a Reply

