Skip to content

Rumours of my death have been greatly exaggerated

October 6, 2014

Okay, okay, it’s been a whole month and I haven’t posted a single thing on this blog. I’m feeling guilty enough, don’t rub it in! But with some longer spells of fine weather I’ve been riding more and really getting a kick out of feeling a bit fitter. You know you’re fitter when you get to the top of your nemesis-hill (we all have one) and your tongue is still in your mouth, not on the top-tube. There’s been no epic rides, just the usual work commutes, neighbourhood errand-running and some two-wheeled exploring while my boys are rowing. I’ve usually got my camera with me so here’s some highlights from the past few months of pedaling:

Bike to the Future Protest Ride

This wasn’t so much a protest as a gentle reminder to the-powers-that-be that the proposed separated cycle lanes on K-Road should happen sooner, rather than later, and not be watered-down to a line of paint on the road. The energetic young minds at Generation Zero used the wonders of social media to gather together 400-500 cyclists and we cruised down Ponsonby and Karangahape roads on an overcast Saturday morning in that state of excitement only a group bike ride generates. Actually “cyclists” is probably the wrong term, we were just “people riding bicycles”. There was a marvelous cross-section of Aucklanders there, all shapes and sizes, all ages, and every weird and wonderful bicycle you could imagine. As Crash of Pickled Pedallers pointed out it was great to see young children riding down city streets in perfect safety – “safety in numbers”. That’s a glimpse of the future right there, but we’ve got to fight for it!

Dapper passenger on K-Road - Awesome!

Dapper passenger on K-Road – Awesome!

The Times, They Are A-Changin'

The Times, They Are A-Changin’. Another cargo bike in St Kevins Arcade.

Bikey People

Post-ride parking provided

Ebisu

The fat girl mooching around downtown on my way home.

Coastal Riding on the Fat-Bike

With big brands like Specialized, Trek and Kona (finally) getting in on the fat-bike act, it won’t be long before our beaches are crawling with the things. In the meantime I’ve got the coast to myself and I’m enjoying the solitude. Company would be nice though, get down to Echelon Cyclery in Barrys Point Rd, pick-up a FatBoy, then we can ride together!

My ride to the grocery store is nicer than yours. (Except you Tarik)

Selfie on the Mairangi Bay Poo-Pipe. This could go so terribly wrong!

Russians + Fatbike

The Russians invade Campbells Bay

Splish Splash

Mairangi Bay: Timing is everything

Wet Wet Wet

Murrays Bay to myself

Peace and tranquility in the suburbs has its price.

The beach below Kennedy Park

Lake Wainamu Farm Gate

The big dune at Bethells Beach. Lake Wainamu in the foreground.

Spot Antoine #1

Some idiot riding down the big dune at Bethells Beach.

Commuting to Work

Most of my riding is simply getting to work and back, I love it, I really do. Those crisp early mornings and inky-black night rides are often the highlight of my day, it’s certainly not the eight hours in-between! In a staff of eighty-five there’s only two of us that bike to work. That’s a sad statistic, but probably an accurate reflection of cycling percentages in the workforce. I know I go on and on about them, but I love my MonkeyLights (LED wheel-lights). I feel so safe with that pulsating light-show going mental inside my wheels and a beautiful wash of colour spills onto the road around me. So much fun too, exercise, art, safety and transport all rolled into one. Much like fat-bikes, I sometimes wonder why I seem to be the only one who’s so enchanted by the things?

Last one out turn off the lights...

Last one out turn off the lights

Bike Parking at Work

Bike Parking in the Dungeon

Catching Some Early Morning Rays

Sometimes I actually ride to work in daylight

Blue Moon

Blue Moon

Sheen

Constellation Drive Sheen

Jah Wobble

Jah Wobble

Fever

Fever

Diamond Dog

Diamond Dog

Monday AM

Monday AM

5.55am Love

5.55am Love

Invisible Man

Invisible Man

It was a purple elephant kind of friday night.

It was a purple elephant kind of friday night.

Spotted Dick

Spotted Dick

Hey, Four Eyes.

Eyes on the road.

Exploring Further Afield

I sometimes take a bike when I dump my kids at Hobsonville Point for rowing training. If you have to get up at 5.00am in the weekend you might as well make the most of it. I usually ride west, through the coastal suburbs, past the marina, until I get to that wonderful yellow bridge crossing the motorway to Westgate. Not far from there you can pedal through the Manutewhau Reserve to Moire Park. Moire Park is a hidden gem, there’s some beautiful little trails in there – you could be in the middle of nowhere!

A rowing morning if ever there was one.

Some ungodly hour at Hobsonville Point

Murderer on the Bridge

The rather impressive pedestrian bridge at Westgate

Manutewhau Stream

Manutewhau Stream in Moire Park

Moire Park Selfie

Moire Park Singletrack Selfie

Ride to the light

Ride to the light

Phew, there’s a month full of posts right there! Keep the rubber-side down – Antoine.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2014 8:34 am

    Just “people riding bicycles” and that’s how it should be. No other labels needed. Beautiful photos too. A good reminder that there are usually glorious locations not far from any of us, and finding them is half the fun!

    • October 7, 2014 10:05 am

      Living in the suburbs it’s usually all hi-vis and lycra, nice to see folks in street-clothes. There were plenty of road-bikes though, it was a good mix.

  2. October 29, 2014 12:46 pm

    I have the pleasure of working in an office where 5 out of the 15 people cycle. I do happen to be in an ecology/conservation school at a university. I mean 4 of the five are vegan so I think we might be a cluster of outliers. Still great though!

    I like the “Ride to the Light” pic too.

Leave a Reply

