Skip to content

The Kindness of Strangers

February 23, 2013

As a cyclist in Auckland you often feel like a second-class citizen. People try to run you into the curb, they pass as close as they can to frighten the crap out of you, then those same people complain about your (arrogant) presence on “their” road in letters-to-the-editor.

The Kindness of Strangers

East Coast Road Share with Care path.

As some of you may know I commute home late at night, and on Thursday evening I paused briefly to take the above picture. I had to lie on the grass, flat on my stomach to frame the shot because my tripod is the size of the average penis and the screen was caressing the grass. In the five minutes I was down there two cars stopped to see if I was okay. One asian couple pulled over beside me and we had a laugh as I explained I was only taking a photo and hadn’t had an accident. The other car had done a u-turn to check on me but when I stood up, camera in hand, they realized I was just some sad-ass with a bicycle fixation and drove on.

These interactions at 10.30pm on a quiet suburban night restored my faith in human nature, for a few days anyway. Maybe bikes have a chance after all?

As a matter of interest this photo is proving one of the most popular I have ever taken. It’s been up on Flickr all of 24 hours and over 2000 people have checked it out? Must be the star-bursts, I’m normally just hang’n with the bike-geeks on that forum!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

