Skip to content

GripRings: First Impressions

September 30, 2012
Pretty

Pick something colourful.

In the first installment we looked at the GripRing concept, brightly coloured silicone rings that nest together to form a single grip. It was time to install them and get riding.

The hard part was deciding what colours and patterns to go for in the first place. On the Spurcycle website they have an interactive tool called GripRings Builder that lets you try out combos before you buy, it’s a lot of fun. Some of the classiest results are quite subtle, a solid block of colour with maybe a highlight-stripe or two. Because my mountainbike looks like circus equipment anyway I shied away from subtle and pulled the clown-bike card!

I cleaned the grip-area with alcohol as per the instructions, measured the starting point with the template provided and 10 minutes later I had the funkiest looking hand/bike interface in Campbells Bay.

Purple Power

Purple fun machine.

With only an hour’s riding under my belt I was asked what they felt like: “grippy, squishy, fat, comfy & weird” was my answer. A week into the review and I’m sticking with that, but I’ll drop “weird” off the end. That kid at school that stood out from the crowd wasn’t weird, he just had some personality, that’s all, he was “unique”.

The finished grips felt nice in the hand, very soft with a finely ribbed surface to stop you sliding around. The contrast with the grips they replaced was immense. The Ergons I had been using were ergonomically-shaped but relatively hard, GripRings use a different approach altogether.

Singletrack Mind

Hitt’n the local singletrack.

The first week was spent tooling around my local park, picking up my daughter from school and commuting to and from work. I’m liking them a lot so far but tomorrow it’s off to Woodhill for some proper mountainbiking to see how they play with the big boys…

GripRing meet Mary

Nothing subtle about these grips.

Decisions

Decisions, decisions.

Review samples kindly provided by purveyor of urban bike accessories Bells & Whistles.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Marla Gnarla permalink
    October 15, 2012 2:26 am

    I like the looks of the ring grips. I have the Ergons right now, so interested after time how you compare the two.
    Marla

    • October 15, 2012 5:11 am

      Hi Marla, doing the final write-up soon. BTW, I was looking for your blog yesterday to see what you were up to, are you off the radar, kept getting an infomercial!

    • October 15, 2012 5:17 am

      Oops, just found it, I’ve been searching for Gatlinburg Spoke Junkie

  2. Marla permalink
    October 16, 2012 3:32 am

    Yeah, I was off the radar for awhile. Gnarlees.wordpress.com. A little blurb there about why. Just getting back to riding finally.

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly Dose of Fat – 10-12-12 | FAT-BIKE.COM
  2. Gripping Stuff: The GripRings Review « Bike Friendly North Shore

Leave a Reply

