Skip to content

Unsworth Reserve Update

July 31, 2012
Unsworth Reserve Crossroads

Turn left for the “official” route or ride straight ahead and save some time.

I stopped by Unsworth Reserve to see if the new boardwalk had been completed but not a lot of progress has been made since my last visit. The structure is looking better however as it weathers and blends more successfully with the bush. Plastic netting has been added to the decking and although still a little slippery on damp road tyres is safer than riding directly on wet wood.

Work has finished on the concrete path leading down from the top of the reserve. The replacement path is the same generous width as the boardwalk and has a nice grippy surface. It looks a little like rough-cast concrete and I’m guessing will still provide some grip when the moss and algae eventually take hold.

Start of boardwalk section.

Start of boardwalk section.

I’m looking forward to riding through here on my regular jaunts to Albany and I hope work resumes soon. It would be nice if it’s completed for summer.

Please Dismount - Unsworth Reserve Boardwalk

You have to use the stairs here and join the existing path.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. marty permalink
    September 30, 2012 10:02 pm

    I rode the Unsworth reserve cycle route today it was great ,will be better when they finish the boardwalk .I rode up from the bottom on my road bike with 23c tires and only had to dismount at the tree roots just before the stairs to the boardwalk .Hope they finish it soon.

    • October 1, 2012 5:33 am

      Good stuff Marty, I was thinking about this route yesterday as I drove over the top of the tunnel in my car.
      Get some 28s on that bike and live a little! ;^)

  2. marty permalink
    October 1, 2012 7:58 pm

    I live a lot on 23s will ride them any where ,till the fork crown is full of mud and the wheels wont go round (not enough room for 25s let alone 28s)

  3. marty permalink
    October 1, 2012 8:29 pm

    While I was mooching around on Sunday I found two other cycle/walkways that you may want to check out the first one goes from Kyle rd Albany to Kyle road Greenhithe ,the second cycle/walkway I found is in the same area ,ride down Kyle rd ( Albany end ) turn right at round about Miromiro st down beside Upper harbour Primary School , the cycle way starts at the end of the road and takes you through open bush to Schopolo Pl which joins Kittiwake Dr which in turn joins the lower end of Schnapper Rock rd . .Have a look on Google maps :)

    • October 2, 2012 3:13 pm

      Familiar with both of those but I’ve only been through once, must get back with a camera. Love the crazy ironwork on the Schopolo Place one. We rode from the Albany Highway direction and found another path between Pin Oak Drive and Aberley Road.

Leave a Reply

