Skip to content

Life getting in the way.

August 22, 2011
My U-Lock is bigger than your U-Lock.

Your Correspondent - Owner of the biggest U-Lock in Auckland.

If you stop by here regularly you may have noticed, well, nothing. Work and ankle-biter commitments have conspired to keep me away from the computer and when I do get some free time, hey, I want to ride my bike, not sit at a keyboard!

It’s been a shitty couple of years for our family on the economic side of things as well. Every year we earn less but the price of everything increases – funny (sad) how that works. I need to devote any free time to earning some extra money. Maybe I could do some design work in the weekends, anyone need a logo?

I’ve also become increasingly depressed by bickering within the cycling-advocacy community. People tend to “sweat the details” or “aim for the stars”. I prefer to keep positive, celebrate any “wins” for cycling and keep chipping away at that nirvana of separated bike paths, helmet-less riding and the greater numbers and increased safety those first two points bring with them.

So after considering winding-up Bike Friendly North Shore altogether I’ve decided to continue, but there will be less regular posts. I’ll put-up the odd ride-report or photo when I have time and keep the site going as a reference for folks searching for information on Shore cycling. The majority of hits to the site are split between locals searching for places to ride and overseas visitors looking for information on cargo-bikes. Those two would account for half the traffic.

We average 400-500 visits per week but this has only been increasing very slowly. I think to become really popular It would need to be more of a cycling “news” site but I don’t have the time to do that and am not in the loop anyway. I have had as many as 1000 hits a day when my graphics have been featured on overseas sites so maybe that is where I should concentrate my efforts to promote cycling, “stick to the drawing son, your writing just doesn’t cut it”.

So a big thanks to all you readers out there and especially those that have taken the time to leave a comment, I truly appreciate it. Please say hello if you see me riding around, we Shore riders need to stick together!

– Antoine

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn permalink
    August 22, 2011 7:12 pm

    I have really enjoyed your blogs Antoine. However I also understand your reasons for not posting so often but I will continue to receive your posts via a RSS Feed so that I dont miss any. Best of luck.

  2. August 23, 2011 9:38 am

    SO pleased you’ve decided to continue. The bike-blogging landscape would have been very much the poorer without you.

  3. August 23, 2011 11:21 am

    Thanks girls, I’m working on a more cheerful post as we speak ;^)

  4. August 24, 2011 12:36 pm

    Glad to read whatever and whenever you post.

    Meanwhile, I DO love your graphics. Gotta think of something I would need a logo for!

    Hang in there.

    • August 24, 2011 11:27 pm

      Thanks Sara

      I see you are a cargo-bike family (bookmarked your blog for future reading). I’m very envious, would just love a Surly Big Dummy (too tall for a Kona Ute or Yuba Mundo).

      One day… one day!

  5. Su Yin permalink
    August 25, 2011 6:26 pm

    Love your work, Antoine!

  6. Rose permalink
    August 26, 2011 11:09 am

    Even though I have moved out of Auckland I still enjoy your weblogging! and your pictures have had lots of comments in my workplace. Keep your chin up, there are lots of like minded folk out here…

  7. chris permalink
    August 28, 2011 8:37 pm

    I’ve enjoyed your posts, thanks for sharing, keep your chin up :-)

  8. September 3, 2011 6:01 am

    So much riding and other activities going on right now around here, that it’s hard to find time to write about it all. The curse of a cycling blogger I guess. Additionally they’ve really cracked down on where we can go on the Internet while at work, so many of my blogging tools are inaccessible during my down time. On a positive note, I now have more time to visit other’s blogs! Something I used to do on a regular basis and really enjoyed.

  9. Ronald permalink
    September 12, 2011 6:37 pm

    Thanks Antoine for all the posts. Really enjoyed it. I hope, I will meet you somewhere on the shore one day. Cheers. ronald

Leave a Reply

