Skip to content

Contemplative Cycling

June 26, 2011
Lest we Forget

Lest we Forget

I kind of zone-out when I’m riding my bike. The brain keeps working but my day-to-day worries are left behind as I meditatively push those pedals around in little circles. I think that’s one of the reasons you feel so good after a bicycle ride, it’s not all about endorphins.

I think about things that matter, things that are important to me – family, nature, art, architecture, whatever pops into my head.

Browns Bay Clifftop Path

Heading down the cliff-top path to Browns Bay.

If I’m riding through Browns Bay, especially in the winter, I’ll often stop at the war memorial above and pay my respects. I take off my helmet, bow my head a little and think about the wasted lives. It’s not a religious thing, I’m not a spiritual person, it just feels right. Lest we forget indeed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

