Skip to content

Why would you drive your car to the library?

April 23, 2011
Blackrock

Some rough bits.

I had some errands to run this morning and books to drop-off at the library before the debt-collectors came knocking. The weather was so delightful I left the “fast” and the “practical” bikes at home and chose the “fun” bike instead. I thought I’d see how much of the coastline I could ride between Milford and Takapuna, staying off the road altogether.

The beach sections were easy, my bike is made for that with its squishy 4 inch tyres. The rocky paths and concrete walls required a bit more concentration but were still doable. I had to portage the bike over some larger obstacles and boulder-strewn sections but that’s all part of the fun, and it was a lot of fun. A chore becomes a challenge, a journey a joy, bikes are good like that.

Why would you drive your car to the library?

Some smooth bits.

We live in such a beautiful part of the world I’m utterly amazed more people don’t get about by bicycle. You just end up taking-in so much more than on a car journey, it’s a sensory experience. You see more, hear more, smell more, you literally taste the air. Walking brings similar results of course but you’re limited by time and distance, bikes are much faster and energy efficient in comparison.

It’s such a human experience too. I’m a reasonably shy person but I usually end up talking to people while out on my bike, even a smile and a greeting can be very satisfying in this fast-paced world. Kids love bikes too, they often wave and say hello as I pass buy. I can’t say that happens when I’m driving, more likely a scowl through a closed window!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2011 8:45 am

    I saw you! We exchanged a hello just on the corner where Takapuna Beach becomes visible coming from Milford. How ’bout that. But I was walking.
    @gracebridges

    • April 24, 2011 9:49 am

      Ha ha, classic, what a day for a walk. I’m usually so happy when I’m out riding I say hello to anyone who’s not grumpy because they don’t expect to meet a bike in such places.

Leave a Reply

