Skip to content

The Wisdom of Yoof

April 22, 2011

I had a brief encounter tonight while riding home from work that really warmed my heart. Some local lads in their mum’s car kindly slowed down on Constellation Drive to scream out the window “Nice bike, you homo – faggot – c*nt”. There were a couple of other adjectives I didn’t quite catch, perhaps when their testicles fully descend my old ears will be able to pick-up the entire description.

Bike-Path Blues

Now while I might take issue with some of their latter points I have to agree it is a very nice bike indeed. So nice in-fact I felt compelled to take a photo of it as I rode along the bike-path afterwards.

So it seems I have some way to go in my quest for a bike-friendly North Shore, but at least they recognized a nice bicycle when they saw one.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Unity Finesmith permalink
    April 25, 2011 10:50 am

    Classy stuff!

    I have to say that I very rarely receive this type of ‘feedback’ (apart from the nice bike bit). What I often get asked is ‘where are you from?’ … I’m never quite sure what they mean … should I reply ‘Earth’ (ie they think I must be from another planet!), ‘Auckland’ (ie they think I must be on holiday), or are they enquiring after the mental institution they presume I have escaped from?!

    • April 25, 2011 1:02 pm

      I’ve only had a couple of “get off the roads” and water squirted at me in daylight hours. All the nasty yoof-encounters have been late at night when I’m returning home from work – usually between 10pm and midnight. Normally verbal abuse, but I have had food and bottles thrown at me which was a little scary as no-one is around if things turned nasty.

Leave a Reply

