Skip to content

Feeling a Little Green

April 5, 2011
Baguette Run

Double-barrel baguette-hauling in the fresh-air.

Sucking down the poison.

Sucking down the poison under the mall.

Green parking right outside.

Green parking right outside.

Why am I feeling a little green all of a sudden? It’s all the fault of the French and their oddly shaped bread.

The weekly quest for the crunchiest baguettes on the Shore takes me not to our closest supermarket, but over the hills to Milford. I love this scenic route and you can smell the ocean the whole way, really gets the senses tingling. At only three or four kilometres why would you take the car? So much fun on a bike!

And that’s the whole point of this post really, I take these small trips by bike not because it’s the environmentally sound option (which it is of course) but because it’s convenient and intensely enjoyable. Come to think of it that’s why I ride my bike to work too. It has nothing to do with being “green” and I sure don’t think of myself as a green person. Heaven forbid, that’s probably the worst thing to push if you want to grow everyday cycling. It would turn people away in droves.

So now we’ve established I’m not wearing sandals and enjoy the occasional dolphin steak (rare, wasabi-mayo on the side), what would turn me green on a trip like this? Nasty, toxic, choking car fumes, that’s what!

As I detoured through the underground carpark of Milford Mall I was assaulted by a wall of carbon-monoxide. After breathing fresh sea breezes it really felt like that, a physical barrier. I could smell it, I could taste it, it stung my eyes, hell I could almost see it. That stuff can’t be good for you.

The car manufacturers improve their emissions year by year and push hybrid-technology as a solution. Sorry, that doesn’t cut it with me. What they are saying is the man-eating lion is not eating as many people as it did last year. Thanks for that, I feel much safer now.

On the ride home I got thinking about how green cycling really is, I mean it’s almost perfect. We need more people on bikes and less of them sitting in traffic jams fouling-up the air. You could be a total global-warming sceptic and still accept that toxic fumes from vehicles are bad for people and bad for the planet. It’s just common sense.

So let’s lead by example. Use that bike for short trips around town and have a good time doing it. If we keep the beards, the Greenpeace t-shirts and the sandals & socks to a bare minimum we might even get others to join us. But keep an eye out for lions.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn permalink
    April 5, 2011 7:29 am

    Great article, I totally agree. I love riding my bike for those short trips as well.
    However I would really like to also know which shop in Milford that your bought your baguettes from please? I love crunchy baguettes as well and they are hard to find.

    • April 5, 2011 8:14 am

      Milford New World, believe it or not. It’s a grotty little place, but cheap, and has the best French bread in town. They bake it in-house.

Leave a Reply

