Skip to content

Duking-it-out on the Greenhithe Bridge

March 7, 2011

Here’s some shaky footage I shot on my recent Greenhithe adventure. Two hours sitting at the computer and I actually managed to make it look worse than the original, but the wind-roar was successfully replaced with Mr Ellington and I got it up on the internet. I’ll take that as a win. The next challenge? Changing gear while holding the camera steady. That maneuver was a big fail!

Friends & family are getting a little tired of me banging-on about separated bike-paths, but this is the sort of stuff I dream about. Who wouldn’t want to ride to work on a cycle-path like this one? You’d let your three-year-old commute to kindergarten it’s so safe.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ronald permalink
    March 8, 2011 6:10 am

    I live in Greenhithe, and yes, it is an excellent cycle way. I commute often from Greenhithe to Auckland city, going over West Auckland. It is almost perfect. After the motorway extension is finished in Hobsonville, I think it will be great to cycle to work. It is slowly getting better for cyclists in Auckland!

    • March 8, 2011 7:59 am

      So this great cycle lane is continuing beside the new motorway heading west towards that yellow bridge? That would be great.

  2. Ronald permalink
    March 20, 2011 4:22 pm

    I don’t think it will go that yellow bridge. You have to cross the motorway. Then you come out at the access road to Hobsonville Airfield. From there you follow the road through Hobsonville again. This is how the cycling route is currently. I don’t think they wil change that. But maybe I am wrong.

Leave a Reply

