Skip to content

Soggy Bagels

February 16, 2011

The Go by Bike Breakfast

Well, the Met Service got that one wrong, didn’t they? It was near storm conditions up here in Campbells Bay when my alarm went off at 6am. I jumped on the net looking for “rain day” information on the Bike Breakfast but came up short. As I sit here typing at 8am the squalls are starting to ease but it’s too late for this bike-commuter, I’ve missed the bagel-window.

I feel for all the volunteers who no doubt got up at some ungodly hour and turned-up for duty hoping the rain would blow past, only to be disappointed.

If any hardy souls did go, email your photos in to: ibikenz [at] gmail.com and I’ll put them up here later in the week.

Lies, Damned Lies, and Statistics

Search Stats

I had a big spike in readers of the blog yesterday. This usually only happens when I post something that gets referenced around the world like this and this.

WordPress has all sorts of statistics available to me so I know how many people are visiting and what they are looking at, but it doesn’t (unlike some others) tell me where they are coming from.

What’s encouraging to me is a lot of locals found their way to the site searching for information on the Go by Bike Day Breakfast in Takapuna.

Of course no bugger leaves a comment, but at least I know someone from the Shore is reading this stuff!

If you’re new to the site welcome aboard.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 2:43 pm

    Yeah mate, I went to the one in town, I have failed to make the last two GBBBs, so rain wasn’t going to stop me :) It stopped before I got to the ferry and stayed dry anyway…

    Most importantly, there was HEAPS of food. HEAPS of giveaways too. Len Brown spoke, apparantly he’s the first mayor to speak at one of these, fair play. The Team Pure Black guys were there, too.

    I really enjoyed it, was good to see a good turn out despite the rain too.

    • February 16, 2011 4:45 pm

      Glad you enjoyed it, I assumed it would be cancelled as was raining so hard at my place. I’ve been to the last two (three?), really enjoyed them and felt a bit guilty when I got to work today and a colleague asked me where I’d got to? He got soaked riding to Takapuna but the rain stopped at the breakfast.

  2. February 17, 2011 9:56 am

    I would like to have gone down but the rain and other commitments kept me away. My wife rode in though and said it was good. Ironically, one of the give-aways was a towel. Seemed rather fitting.

    On another note, I am no longer a huaraki, lake road virgin as of Monday. It sure was an odd experience and somewhat unnerving. Despite the slow moving traffic, motorists still feel the need to accelerate past you only to pull in front of you and deny passage. The sad part is that it is nothing unexpected.

  3. Su Yin permalink
    February 26, 2011 11:14 am

    Last year was the only time I managed to make it to the GBB!

    Webstock is always hosted a day before GBB so I tried to make it to the Wellington one this year. No dice.

    I got lost (“Why don’t you take the scenic route to the CBD instead, dear?”), broke a spoke (the whole front wheel was written off) and it was over by the time I made it to the CBD.

    Sad panda.

  4. rosie permalink
    March 1, 2011 2:34 pm

    Yes of course people are reading your Blog, I have moved out of Auckland and still read it. Great work on the biking and artwork!

Leave a Reply

