Skip to content

Bike Spotting: Hauraki Cnr Commuters

January 25, 2011

Hauraki Cnr Commuters
I took these at 5.15pm on Tuesday afternoon. My god, after riding up from the (quiet) beach it was a traffic-jam hell on Lake Road, I don’t know how people suffer it. These two bicycle commuters avoided certain death by riding on the footpath past the intersection and who could blame them, it was like a scene from Mad Max out on the road.

I spoke to some contractors working on the Hauraki Cnr to Esmond Rd upgrade while I was in the vicinity and a separated (by paint) 1.5m cycle lane is planned for each side of the road. That can’t come quick enough but I hope it doesn’t peter-out approaching the intersection like the one in Belmont does.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2011 10:09 am

    my wife works at Takapuna grammar and she cycles sometimes. It has always been hideous along that stretch of road. I always worry about her.

    • January 27, 2011 11:17 am

      It’s my old school. 10-speeds, no helmets, less traffic, good times. I actually feel safer in the Lake Rd bike lanes when there is lots of traffic, you are usually moving faster than the cars. The intersections are the dangerous bits.

Leave a Reply

