Skip to content

The Bicycle Brotherhood

January 24, 2011

Kepa closeupKepa beforeI had the pleasure of organizing a guest-post over on Cycling in Auckland recently and it got me thinking. Kepa, a young guy from South Auckland had read one of my Great Rides pieces and left a comment about how he enjoyed the route. That’s how the connection was made, we both love riding our bikes. Without meeting him I’d guess we have nothing much else in common. We live on opposite sides of town, he’s a Uni student – I work in a factory, he’s young – I’m old, he’s brown – I’m semi-translucent…  Go over and have a read, it’s an inspirational story.

The point I’m trying to make is that unlike in some cultures, cycling in New Zealand is not just “transport”, not yet anyway. It’s not simply the best or cheapest way to get from A to B, it’s a lifestyle choice we make and I feel a connection of sorts to other cyclists, whatever they’re riding. That’s certainly not something I’d say about fellow car drivers, they’re just shadows in metal boxes, they’re not doing something I care deeply about.

Of course when the umpteenth lycra-cowboy© blows past me at the speed-of-light and fails to say g’day or give a wave, my feelings of camaraderie are stretched a little thin, but that’s a subject for another day!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 8:03 am

    woah! how much weight loss!!! awesome

Leave a Reply

