Skip to content

The 2010 Singlespeed World Champs

October 26, 2010
Waiting for the start

This guy is a professional factory mountainbike racer

Yeah, I know this site is all about utility-cycling but this Labour weekend I raced in an event where the only shaved-legs were on the females. Of course half the male competitors were dressed as females, but leather thongs and viking costumes made a welcome change from the sack-of-potatoes-stuffed-in-Lycra that you usually get with bicycle racing.

We had 900 competitors from 30 countries and a Rotorua local won. A great result when you’re up against professional racers from the USA and some pretty serious amateurs from all over the world.

It was a reminder that riding bikes is a fun activity and you can be competitive if you choose to without taking yourself too seriously.

Julian Dean

Julian Dean - Three podiums at this year's Tour de France

Racing Fairy

If you can get away with it...

Full Camo

40kms with no gears in full camo - Respect.

Heather Irmiger - SSWC09 Womans Champion

Last year's female winner (the one in the middle)

Team-Ireland winning the horizontal bungy.

Horizontal Bungy: Team-Ireland winning the right to host next year's World Champs

Asterix & Obelisk

Every Superhero & Cartoon Character was representing. I counted five Supermen

BarbieFurRacer® B+W

My race-weapon. (If you could call a 17kg singlespeed a weapon)

As in our New Zealand Singlespeed Champs “If you don’t want the tattoo, don’t win”. The first placed male and female riders received their winners tattoos immediately after the finish!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gino permalink
    October 27, 2010 7:41 pm

    Thanks for the pics! I really wish I could’ve made it to this on your turf.

    • October 27, 2010 11:31 pm

      My pleasure. I wish I had the money to race this one every year.

      Funny thing… I didn’t know who any of those people were when I was snapping the pictures. I was just taking pictures of their hilarious costumes and happened to be surrounded by the Niner factory team while waiting for the Nascar start sequence. I was also chatting to Ross Schnell at Kiwibikes the day before not knowing he was the reigning world champion – I just thought he was a Trek mechanic or something. Nice guy.

      …and the guy in the fantastic orange tracksuit turned out to be New Zealand’s most successful professional road-racer! I gotta get out more ;^)

  2. Mel permalink
    October 29, 2010 9:25 pm

    Nice to meet you there amongst the mayhem. Pity there wasn’t time to talk. Here’s my take on the event that was SSWC 2010: http://theparsnips.blogspot.com/2010/10/what-i-did-at-sswc-2010.html

    Hope to see you around somewhere. :)

Leave a Reply

