Skip to content

Benefits of Cycle Commuting #23 – Get fit without really trying.

August 18, 2010

This flu has totally floored me (as you may of worked-out from the lack of posts lately) and I’m only just starting to feel myself three weeks later and getting some energy back.

The point of this post? On Sunday I had some errands to do and in an attempt to stop my two sons killing each other I dragged the 12 year old off his brother and took him out with me on our bikes. After almost two weeks off the bike I was expecting to suffer as our route featured plenty of hills. But to my great surprise, no problem, the legs felt fine. We were flying up the hills like I had never been off the bike. After twelve kilometres and a handful of stops I got home feeling better than when we took off.

I guess it goes to show that every little bit helps. My work commute is only an eight kilometre round trip and unless I’m hauling my daughter up something steep I never ride hard enough to break a sweat. But a little regular riding is enough to build up a good level of fitness just going about your daily business without having to shrink-wrap yourself in Lycra and hit the road for hours on end.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 9:06 am

    You’re lucky, I don’t cycle for a week and I’m like an eighty year old asthmatic car crash survivor.

Leave a Reply

