Skip to content

New cycle path. Training wheels welcome.

August 12, 2010

New cycle path. Training wheels welcome.
While I’ve been housebound for the last week with the flu the council have been busy erecting signs on the new East Coast Road share-with-care path. As a ratepayer I grimace a little at the cost of such folly but I suppose infrastructure like this has got to be promoted to the general public somehow.

New Bike Path

Odd placement on this one. The couple were wondering why you would ride your bike off the footpath and into the bushes.

The path is getting very light use at the moment, but that’s not so unusual for an Auckland footpath is it? I think once the weather warms up a bit the locals will start using this facility, especially the kids. Nothing like nice smooth concrete to bring out the BMXs and skateboards.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Barb Cuthbert permalink
    August 29, 2010 5:54 am

    Thanks for publicising this Antoine! I’m really keen to hear what the locals think of this new route. I’m a great believer in CONTINUOUS, CONNECTED ON-ROAD CYCLELANES as our priority on the Shore, rather than spending most of our cycling bucks on these off road paths. But if these paths get heaps more kids and other everyday cyclists out on their bikes, then Cycle Action will go into bat for more. As a Devonport, City and Waiheke everyday cyclist, I don’t get up your way much. So please, keep me in the loop!

    • August 29, 2010 5:58 pm

      The Share-with-Cares will help get beginners and kids riding bikes but they certainly aren’t a transport option. Having said that I ride home on this one, but only because at the late hour I am on East Coast Rd I’ve had problems with yobbos chucking stuff at me and trying to knock me off my bike.

Leave a Reply

