Skip to content

We don’t know how lucky we are.

June 11, 2010

Specialized machines.

After being laid-low with a cold the entire Queen’s birthday weekend the fine weather on Wednesday was just too tempting and I wrapped-up warm and hit the beach. I felt better immediately as you often do after a couch-to-bike transition and a ride in the sun was just the thing to clear my head and lungs.

Growing up in Auckland we tend to take harbour views for granted but it was such a beautiful day you couldn’t help but be impressed by it all, truly stunning.

Forgetting my water-bottle I re-hydrated with whiskey from my on-board hip flask and this led to an unusual route choice. Not so unusual for walking but possibly a first for cycling. My anticipated 50 metres of bike-shouldering south of Campbells Bay turned out to be more like 500 metres! A 17 kilo snowbike is not ideal draped over your shoulder as you leap from boulder to boulder but I came though unscathed and lived to ride another day.

Bike Path?

Bike Rack?

Resting.

The plan was to continue around the point to Castor Bay but I’d had enough of rock-hopping so I took advantage of the new stairs up to Kennedy Park. Several pine forests must have been felled to create this monster and by the time I got to the top I was delirious. It was like climbing Everest with lead boots and a Jaffa up each nostril.

Stairway to Hell.

The view from Hell.

It was worth the effort though as the view from the top is breathtaking, and breathtaking is an apt description when you’ve lugged a bike up there. They have not been officially opened but access from the beach is unrestricted and you only have to step around some temporary fencing at the top.

Things returned to normal here as I looped back to Campbells Bay on the tarmac and rode along the coast to Murrays Bay wharf and back, my usual route. Well relatively normal as you don’t often see tractors, diggers and concrete-mixers on the beach. Workmen were constructing something at the Northern end of Campbells Bay and I had to ride over the rocks instead of along the path.

My footprints are usually the biggest.

Although I probably should have been tucked-up in bed I didn’t regret making the most of a break in the weather for a couple of hours. A winter’s day in Auckland doesn’t get much better than this.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Unity Finesmith permalink
    June 11, 2010 9:52 am

    It sounds like you still had a fever! Are you mad?! Nice pics though :-)

  2. Marla Gnarla-the gatlinburg spokejunkie permalink
    June 12, 2010 1:43 am

    Love the Pugs hanging from the tree! So, is the Midget assassin fully two wheeled now? I thought the bike bubble thought at was cool. I’d wear a shirt with one of those!

    • June 12, 2010 1:54 am

      Thanks Marla. She’s riding along fine but can’t start herself off yet, a couple more lessons and we’ll be there. She’s only just turned 4 so there’s no hurry really.

Leave a Reply

