Skip to content

If I can’t ride bikes I run along behind them or pick up a pencil

June 8, 2010

I’ve been laid low with the flu of late so apart from riding to work the bike has been gathering dust in the garage. Not that the Queen’s Birthday weather was particularly welcoming anyway.

With the help of a broomstick and some zip-ties I did manage to wean my 4-year-old off training-wheels. This will be great next summer with her mobile under her own steam.

Now riding without training-wheels, broomstick or asthmatic dad running behind.

And then I worked through some ideas I had racing around my head involving (surprise, surprise) bikes and bike icons. I thought they might look good on a t-shirt or something, because, you know, I’m always “talking” or “thinking” about bikes!

From the (lack of) responses I got over on Flickr I shouldn’t have bothered, but I’m quite pleased with them. It’s fun trying to pare something down to its most basic elements to effectively create a pictogram. When I used to do this stuff for a living I always thought a logo was successful if it still worked in one colour and when viewed very small. Clients of course are from different planets, but, you know, you’ve got to try.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn permalink
    June 10, 2010 11:02 am

    They look great! Keep up the good work. Your blog is enjoyable to read

    • June 10, 2010 11:11 pm

      Thanks so much Carolyn, nice to get some feedback.

      To tell the truth I’m scratching around for things to say now that it’s the middle winter. There aren’t many cycling events happening at the moment so I’m just putting up the odd post when I can so when readers check-in there’s something new to look at.

      I’ll try to get a casual group-ride going in Spring (which is a bit of a challenge as I’m a bit shy) and meet some local riders with similar viewpoints on urban cycling. Love to see you there!

      – Antoine

Leave a Reply

