Skip to content

Take back the streets!

June 4, 2010
tags: ,

This is filmed in Los Angeles but hop on your bike (very) early in the morning or late on a week-night and the streets of Auckland are also virtually deserted. My midnight commute home is eerily silent and apart from the occasional boy-racer lobbing bottles or hamburgers at me I’ve got the place to myself. You begin to appreciate how much of our city is swallowed-up by roading.

I’m not anti-car, I’ve got two of them sitting in my garage, but too many resources are wasted trying to transport small light things (us) in big heavy things (cars). You build more roads to ease congestion and more people choose to travel by car, so pretty soon you are back where you started.

Auckland needs to get smarter.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 11:35 am

    Agreed! I love it when I have to cycle home late at night from town. The roads are virtually deserted and no cars clogging up the off-street carparks.

    Concerned friends and colleagues will ask, “Are you really going to cycle home at this time of the day?” but I just give them a wink and a smile. ;-)

Leave a Reply

