Skip to content

The Rode to Ruin

April 7, 2010

I took a ride to Point Chevalier today to check out a bike retailer that is a little different from most. Well I would have ridden if bikes were allowed on the bloody bridge! As it was I drove over the bridge, parked, and rode the rest of the way. A hassle, but cheaper and faster than fussing with ferries.

Love the graphics.

 

 
Rode have bikes and accessories that I have been coveting on the internet for years and assumed you would have to source yourself from overseas. Niche brands like Swobo and Civia that focus on urban and commuter bikes and are oh-so-cool as well as practical. I could spend a lot of money in a cyclist’s Aladdin’s cave such as this but after consultation with my bank manager settled on a spin around the car park on a Swobo Baxter.

The Christmas shopping list is all sorted now. A Swobo Baxter for me complete with 8-speed hub-gear, chain-case and an integrated rear-light in the seat post…

Light aluminium frame and carbon fibre fork.

 

Shimano Alfine 8-speed hub gears.

 

A Civia Loring for my darling with that gorgeous front rack and bamboo mudguards…

 

A dream urban bike all set-up to go.

 

A three-pack of Cannondales for the ankle-biters (It’s actually an adults bike)…

 

Appropriately named Hooligan.

 

and a fixie for my dad…

Wall Art.

 

Thanks Tim and Jason for showing me around and you wouldn’t have got that Swobo back if I hadn’t left the car keys on my Surly!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2010 1:55 am

    Your Dad is gonna be psyched!!!

  2. April 9, 2010 6:42 pm

    Shimano Alfine: I approve and love!

    Based on looks alone, I must say I prefer the Swobo Baxter to my Merida

  3. April 9, 2010 11:37 pm

    Most of the Swobos have a “tough” street-fighter look about them (which I like as well) but that Baxter is a bit more elegant, isn’t it?

  4. April 11, 2010 11:59 am

    Yes, that Baxter is perfect! And I was surprised at how light it was—it looked like a heavy steel Dutch bike.

Leave a Reply

