Skip to content

It’s not about racing, but…

March 29, 2010

On Saturday I competed in the DUAL 50km mountainbike race, a unique event where permission is granted to ride on the trails of Rangitoto and Motutapu Islands. This is your only opportunity of the year to bring a bike to the islands and they are magical places to ride.

For North Shore mountainbikers this is our closest race to home, although getting 600 riders and bikes over to Motutapu Island for an 8am start makes for some logistical limbo. It involves a lot of car and ferry juggling and a very early start on race day, but it’s worth the effort for the views alone. 

If you have a good level of fitness and some off-road skills I highly recommend the experience. A couple of these photographs are from the inaugural event last year as I took that one a lot less seriously and stopped to take photos at every opportunity. 

Dawn at Home Bay

The sun rises over Home Bay wharf.

 

Maori welcome and prayers as we disembark the ferry in the dark.

 

My Barbie racing mojo. Still got a flat tyre, but no crashes.

 

An event to avoid if you don't like hills. Motutapu is a roller-coaster.

 

I used my road bike this year after suffering on my singlespeed MTB in '09.

 

There are postcard vistas like this for most of the race.

 

Fixing my puncture at an aid station.

 

Yours truly relaxing at Home Bay, post-race. The smile masks the pain.

 

Catching the ferry back to downtown Auckland.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marla Gnarla-the gatlinburg spokejunkie permalink
    April 5, 2010 12:54 am

    Beautiful county!!

  2. April 5, 2010 9:14 am

    Yes, being so close to the water is what I miss when I travel. I get a bit homesick when I can’t see the sea everyday.

    I look across the sea to Rangitoto just about everyday of my life as it’s just across the channel from the North Shore, and because it’s a volcanic cone it looks the same from any angle. Auckland has dozens of volcanos but this is the biggest.

    Have a look on Google Earth for “Rangitoto Island”, you can’t miss it.

Leave a Reply

