Skip to content

Bike Spotting: I Smell Change

March 6, 2012


I have no hard evidence, it’s all anecdotal, but I’m sure everyday cycling is growing here on the Shore.

I spotted the bike above cruising along the footpath between Takapuna and Milford (Don’t get me started on the need for cycle-lanes on this road!).

The rider was an elegant woman, probably in her fifties and wearing her everyday clothes. I pulled out my phone to grab a snap but mechanical ineptitude got the better of me and she was gone. Then later I stopped in at the supermarket and there it was, chained-up outside the front door.

This is the ultimate cycling “snapshot” for me. An everyday person on an everyday bike running an everyday errand, and the frequency of these encounters is increasing.

I rarely saw this five years ago. Even two years ago a bike like the one above was hard to source, let alone a bike-basket or a non-touring pannier.

If people weren’t buying this stuff shops wouldn’t stock it, that’s enough evidence for me right there!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2012 8:22 am

    I bought a step through bike a fortnight ago and am getting to grips with safe biking around the Shore. I too am noticing lots more people cycling and the bike shop people say they are seeing a growth; very encouraging.

    • March 10, 2012 11:12 am

      Great stuff, stick to the quiet roads until you get your mojo going.

      It is encouraging but to get the numbers growing quicker we need more quality cycle lanes on the main-arterials so folks can get around faster and safer. Like the Lake Road lanes but more defined and continuous through the intersections!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

